Tags

, , , , , , ,


I have been reading Tim Keller’s New York Times bestselling book, The Reason for God: Belief in an Age of Skepticism. So far it’s a fascinating read. I just finished the chapter on the knowledge of God. The thesis of that chapter is we all have an innate knowledge of God’s existence, yet we tend to suppress this truth. This is not a new argument in the realm of Christian apologetics. Keller offers as evidence for this innate knowledge of God within us all our sense of morality. In our current 21st century Western civilization, the concept of morality as largely relative is fairly widespread, yet we make moral judgments all the time. The classic case in point is the Nazi holocaust. I feel fairly confident in saying that no one has a problem calling what the Nazis did to the Jews during WWII was evil.

To that end, I would like to ask an open question to all self-proclaimed atheists and agnostics (by atheists, I am referring to people who positively state there is no God; and by agnostics, I am referring to people who claim there might be a God, but we can not know him), and the question is this:

If there is no God, then upon what do you base your morality?

In other words, what serves as the foundation for your judgments in saying this is right and that is wrong?

If you wish to weigh in with your answer, please follow these simple guidelines:

  1. Please be civil, I am not trying to start a “flame” war. I am sincerely reaching out to people who believe differently than I do and seeking to understand how they answer this question
  2. Please keep your comments to the question posed above

Thank you!

