Tags

, ,


OK, so now we’re down to six finalists left on American Idol. As such, I thought I would revisit something I wrote back on March 13 when the 12 finalists were chosen to see how accurate my predictions were:

So after an evening filled with ‘drama,’ the top 12 finalists for season 9 of American Idol have been decided. A few surprises, but the contestants that I feel have what it takes to win all made it. Here’s a brief rundown on the finalists. First the men:

Michael Lynche: “Big Mike” is probably the current front runner for the guys. He’s got a very good voice and an extremely likable personality. After starting off OK in week #1, he stepped it up the last two weeks. Big Mike could possibly win it all.

Lee Dewyze: A local boy from the Chicago area, Lee has been consistently good for the past three weeks. He’s my dark horse for the guys to win it all. I like his voice and musical style, and as his confidence builds, so do his chances of winning.

Andrew Garcia: He was my early favorite to win it all for the guys, but has hit a bit of a rough patch the past couple of weeks. It’s not that he hasn’t performed well, but he is trying to capture the ‘magic’ from Hollywood week when he wowed everybody with his acoustic version of Paula Abdul’s Straight Up. He needs to look forward, not backward.

Casey James: I like Casey. He’s got a good voice and he plays a mean guitar, but I don’t think he’s got enough steam to win it all; others would have to lose it for him to win it. I definitely think top 5 potential, but that’s about it; but hey, it’s still early.

Aaron Kelly: Great voice for a 16 year old, but I don’t think he should have been in the top 12. He’s probably headed for an early exit; but I could be wrong.

Tim Urban: He’s the cute kid who didn’t originally make it to the top 24; and he’s been continually reminded of that. Started off pretty bad and got marginally better in week #2 before turning a decent performance in week #3. He’s more than likely advancing more due to his good looks than his vocal ability; not that he’s bad, it’s just the others are better.

And now for the women:

Crystal Bowersox: What can I say about this girl? She’s been consistently great each of the past three weeks with last week’s cover of Tracy Chapman’s Give Me One Reason her latest peak. She was my early favorite for the girls, and that hasn’t changed. If people can get past the somewhat seemingly aloof personality and her non-conventional look, I think she can (and will) win it all; she’s that good!

Siobahn Magnus: The ‘quirky’ little girl with the BIG voice. She wowed everybody with “The Note” from her cover of Aretha Franklin’s Think. She’s Crystal’s main competition from the girls, but I think Crystal is the better overall artist.

Katie Stevens: An early favorite for the girls, she’s been having trouble defining what type of artist she wants to be. She’s got a great voice, and if she discovers her ‘inner artist’ watch out!

Didi Benami: The “weepy” one. She manages to shed some tears each week. She’s had some decent performances with Fleetwood Mac’s Rhiannon being her best one to date. Though the judges rave about her unique voice, she doesn’t really do it for me. I don’t think she’s got a realistic chance of winning season 9.

Lacy Brown: I’m not quite sure what to make of her. She’s kinda cute, but the quality of her voice kind of annoys me; she’s in the same category of Didi — a good voice that doesn’t appeal to me.

Paige Miles: She’s an enigma. A girl with a seemingly good voice that can’t perform well when it counts. In all fairness, she should have been eliminated last week, but she must have a strong fan base. She won’t make the top 10.

Now onto my predictions:

  • Top 5: Michael Lynche, Lee Dewyze, Andrew Garcia, Crystal Bowersox and Siobhan Magnus
  • To win it all: Crystal Bowersox
  • Dark Horse to win it: Lee Dewyze

All in all, I think I’m doing pretty good here. With the exception of Andrew, all of my top 5 are still in the running — and since I said Casey had top 5 potential, I think I’m doing very good. While I initially pegged Big Mike as the best male in the competition, I had a feeling Lee would surpass him; and I believe he’s already done that.

I am still sticking with my girl, Crystal, to win it all and Lee to come in as runner-up.

Who do you think will win American Idol Season 9?


